Opinion

Home/Opinion

Update: Tough Mudder – Witnesses Describe Rescue as Slow / Disorganized

By | 2017-05-18T15:29:49+00:00 April 25th, 2013|Opinion, Risk, Water Safety|

(If you were there - please help:  A Call for Videos) A recent article by Andrew Metcalf at Patch includes witnesses describing the rescue efforts (or lack of rescue efforts) after Sengupta’s friends reported that he did [...]

A Letter on Their Hearts

By | 2017-05-18T15:29:50+00:00 June 17th, 2012|Life, Opinion|

It's time to start writing my own letters to my children and to my friends. It is time for all of us to start writing. We shouldn't wait. As I've always looked to my parents I know now that our children always look to us with the same unanswered question just behind their hearts. "Is this it, Daddy? Am I doing good?" It's the reason they learn to say "Watch me" so young. And if you only get one thing then get this: Our children do not hold back or shrink from themselves because they are afraid to fail. They are only afraid of failing us.

Women will Never be Equal to Men

By | 2017-05-18T15:30:02+00:00 November 23rd, 2009|Diversity, General Leadership, Opinion|

With so many organizations competing for the women of the world, trying to get them to take notice and join up with them (instead of their competitors) I've noticed something disturbing: It's not working. Though some have enjoyed moderate success at upping the numbers of female leaders on the payroll - too many (far too many) are struggling. As of April, only 15 of the Fortune 500 were led by women CEOs. That's just .03%? - Pathetic. I think - and bear with me here - that I have identified the primary reason that so many of us long to achievie gender balance on our teams. Ready? Here it is: We keep trying to treat women as equals.....huge mistake. Now I've heard all the arguments: “a woman can do anything a man can do.” and, “women are just as good at men in the workplace.” But it never quite registered with me as the right approach.

The Myth of the Turnaround Employee

By | 2017-05-18T15:30:02+00:00 October 24th, 2009|Business, General Leadership, Learning, Opinion|

The unaccounted for variable in all these stories, from the "look what my caring leadership and mentoring has produced" series, are the other ten people that worked for you back in 95. What happened to them? What happened to your top three performers that you ignored while you were paying attention to your fixer-upper? Because something definitely happened to them - while you may have thought you were doing a good and noble thing, I personally believe you screwed up royal.

A Little Perspective

By | 2017-05-18T15:30:02+00:00 July 19th, 2009|General Leadership, Opinion|

Perspective changes everything. It will let you know when its time to dig in and fight, and when its alright to concede. Perspective allows you to remain calm when everyone else is frantic. Knowing what is bad and what isn't gives you a certain coolness under what is pressure to everyone else, and that can make all the difference. When faced with a "crisis" (please) the ability to temper your reaction accordingly and face the problem makes things better. Calm beats frazzled every time.